1 Comment

Day 5: Keep five minutes of silence at noon.

Even if you are silent on the outside, there sure as hell can be a lot of things going on on the inside.

Today’s challenge: keep five minutes of silence. Easy? I remember visiting the Taize Community in my twenties. Each day in one of the services. twenty minutes of silence is kept. At the beginning of the week this felt like an eternity. At the end of the week, things had changed and it didnt’ feel like enough.

I want to do this again and extend the time. Because my five minutes contained lots of inner noise. On the outside I could just hear the cars going past outside and quiet whirrs from my laptop which had been closed up.

Inside, thoughts were jumbling up together. There were questions from a meeting that I had this morning and a need to Google something. I wanted to be silent inside and outside. I will try for another five minutes later on today; and try to be silent inside and outside.  I want to get back to that Taize experience when the time set isn’t enough.

One comment on “Day 5: Keep five minutes of silence at noon.

  1. The Lent task in our parish is to set aside 5 minutes a day for silence and reflection and prayer for the future of the parish. So you are not alone!

Leave a Reply

